An annual event now in its 11th year, GoggleWorks’ Juried Exhibition is designed to showcase and reward the talents of individual artists in all media. There is no theme-artists are simply encouraged to submit their best work.

This year’s juror is Lisa Tremper Hanover, Director & CEO of the James A. Michener Art Museum, who says, “The juried exhibition process is a wonderful opportunity to experience a significant number of work submitted by a thriving community of artists. A lot of raw emotion, along with current events, were a catalyst for many of the entries. There was a nice balance of genres and I was particularly struck by the mixed media compositions and the videography work. I was also drawn to pattern surfaces and imagery that bordered on abstraction. Many of my selections include strong linear elements and sharp contrasts. The sculpture is provocative and imaginative. Overall, I was impressed with the amount of work executed on a large scale. The quality of entries for this exhibition is sophisticated, challenging, and rendered with excellence. Narrowing a field of over 600 entries to less than 100 was a daunting task, as there were many more worthy of inclusion. I congratulate all of the artists and those recognized with additional honors.”

Awards will be presented during the opening reception, on the evening of April 28th from 5:30-7:30pm with the grand prize being a solo exhibition in the Irvin & Louis Cohen Gallery, GoggleWorks’ premier exhibition space. First, second, and third prizes receive cash awards.

GoggleWorks congratulates all participating artists:

We congratulate all the participating artists:

Leora Armstrong
Sarah Baptist
Richard Begbie
Loren Berckey
Karen Blankenship
Melanie Breiterman
Kevin Brett
Robyn Burckhardt
Jean Burdick
Randall Cleaver
Linda Conklin
James Cooper
Chris Cox
Nayda Cuevas
Daniel Dallmann
Abigail DeVizia
Jeff Downey
Douglass Dresher
Wendy Edsall-Kerwin
Steve Fabian
Charles Farrell
Pamela Foley
Brenda Frezeman
Linda Dubin Garfield
Tyler Gaston
Cassandra Gordon-Harris
Bob Hakun
Mike Hale
Sean Hildreth
Michael Hill
Emily Hracho
Michael Hric
Tom Hubert
Sue Jenkins
Nancy Kress
Pat Kumicich
Paul Laincz
Pam Lethbridge with Scott Rosenthal
Qian Li
Lauren Livingston
Janet Martin-Aylam
Mark Mellett
Florence Moonan
Kathleen Nademus
Heidi Nam
Emma Osle
James Parziale
Mathew Paskiet
Lisa Patzer
Evan Pomerantz
Sienna Proetto
Susan Worden Rheiner
Susan Roth
Jane Runyeon
Patricia Scialo
Sandra Scicchitani
Julie Shea
Gordon Sherman
Madeline Smith
Andrea Snyder
Barbara Thun
Michael Tracy
Roberta Tucci
Diane Turner
Steven Ullmer
Georgette Veeder
Doré Vorum
Andrew Williams
Jaqueline Young

About the Juror:

Lisa Tremper Hanover was named Director & CEO of the James A. Michener Art Museum in March 2012 after a successful tenure as Director of the Philip and Muriel Berman Museum of Art at Ursinus College. A leader in the museum field, Hanover has conducted numerous Museum Assessment Program reviews and served on AAM Accreditation teams.

In addition to presenting at numerous regional and national conferences, Hanover has served as President of the Association of Academic Museums & Galleries, Pennsylvania Federation of Museums & Historical Organizations, and presented over 250 public lectures to professional organizations. Hanover has juried over 85 art exhibitions and public art commissions and served on the Board of Directors of the Wayne Art Center, The Baum School of Art, and the Wood Turning Center of Philadelphia.